About Clark

Jonas Clark Hall

Historical Timeline

By decade
1880 | 1890 | 1900 | 1910 |1920 | 1930 | 1940 | 1950 | 1960 | 1970 | 1980 | 1990 | 2000 | 2010


1890 - 1899


The first Clark doctoral degrees (in biology and psychology) are conferred upon Herman Bumpus, later president of Tufts University, and Herbert Nichols, who would go on to teach at Harvard.


Clark President G. Stanley Hall establishes the American Psychological Association (APA), now the largest scientific and professional organization in the United States.

Clark opens one of the first, if not the first, summer schools devoted to psychology and education at a major university, which gave powerful impetus to the Child Study movement and, to a lesser extent, the kindergarten movement.

Alex Chamberlain, under the direction of professor Franz Boas, earns the first American Ph.D. in anthropology.

Professor A. A. Michelson determines the length of the international standard meter in terms of a natural constant, the wavelength of cadmium light. In 1907, Michelson is awarded the Nobel Prize for this finding, making him the first American to win a Nobel Prize in science.


The Clark University Board of Trustees votes that "ladies will be admitted to special courses on the usual terms." Theodate Smith becomes the first woman to formally enroll in courses at Clark.


Physics professor Arthur Gordon Webster founds the American Physical Society (APS). Today, more than 40,000 scientists worldwide belong to the APS.