About Clark

Jonas Clark Hall

Historical Timeline

By decade
1880 | 1890 | 1900 | 1910 |1920 | 1930 | 1940 | 1950 | 1960 | 1970 | 1980 | 1990 | 2000 | 2010


1960 - 1969


Former Clark biology professors Gregory Pincus and Hudson Hoagland release the birth control pill through the Worcester Foundation of Experimental Biology.


Alice Higgins becomes the first woman trustee of Clark. In 1967, she would become chair of the board, the first woman to chair the governing board of a private research university in the United States.

Clark's Evening College offers the first M.B.A. in Central Massachusetts.


English professor Jessie Cunningham is the first female faculty member to be awarded permanent tenure at Clark.


The Downing Street Residence Center opens with Johnson Hall for women and Sanford Hall for men (now the Johnson Sanford Center), and Little Commons (now Little Center). The complex would receive the American Institute of Architects' Honor Award in 1967.


Ground is broken for the Robert Hutchings Goddard Library, designed by award-winning architect John Johansen. U.S. Senator Edward Kennedy (D-MA) and astronaut Edwin "Buzz" Aldrin, the son of Edwin Aldrin '15, are guests at the library dedication in 1969.


Frederick H. Jackson becomes the University's fourth president.

Pioneering psychologist Jean Piaget lectures at Clark.

The Dana Residence Center opens with Hughes Hall for women, Dana Hall for men, and Dana Commons.

Fun Facts


The Clark University Film Society is established. This student organization remains active today.


The Clark basketball team changes its name from the Clark Scarlets to the Clark Cougars.