About Clark

Jonas Clark Hall

Historical Timeline

By decade
1880 | 1890 | 1900 | 1910 |1920 | 1930 | 1940 | 1950 | 1960 | 1970 | 1980 | 1990 | 2000 | 2010


1970 - 1979


Glenn W. Ferguson is inaugurated as the fifth president of Clark.


Ruth Dodd Residence Hall is constructed to complete the Dana Quadrangle.

The philosophy journal Idealistic Studies is founded.


The University Archives are established.

Clark's first minority trustee, journalist and ambassador Carl Rowan, is elected.


Alan E. Guskin serves as acting president of the University.


Mortimer H. Appley becomes the sixth president of Clark.


The Evening College becomes the College of Professional and Continuing Education.


President Apply founds the psychology journal Motivation and Emotion.


Education professor Helen Kenney becomes the first woman to chair a Clark academic department.


The Center for Technology, Environment and Development (CENTED) is established for the analysis of technological hazards, comparative risk assessment and international development programs. CENTED has since become an internationally recognized center for the study of natural and technological hazards in the United States.

The Robert Hutchings Goddard Memorial opens as an international, scholarly memorial to Goddard's genius. The memorial, located on the ground floor of the Goddard Library, houses Goddard's papers and other materials on rocketry and space exploration.

Clark's Program of Liberal Studies is implemented.

The Student Activities Center (later named Kneller Athletic Center) opens.

Fun Facts


Johnson Hall becomes the first co-ed residence hall.


The Friends of the Goddard Library is established. Today, the group presents guest lectures throughout the year, holds an annual used-book sale and sponsors the annual Nicholas Basbanes Book Collecting Contest for undergraduate and graduate students.


Clark's General Store, founded by Ron Shaich '76 (later Clark University trustee), opens in a triple-decker on Downing Street.


The women's basketball team captures the Division III state championship.