Office of Sponsored Programs and Research

Red Square Clark University Worcester MA

Call For Faculty Fellowship Nominations

Deadline each year is mid April

I am pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the awarding of

The Oliver and Dorothy Hayden Junior Faculty Fellowship and
The University Senior Faculty Fellowship

Each of these fellowships provides a grant of $4500 in support of the academic activities of an outstanding faculty member personifying the Clark ideal of excellence in teaching and excellence in research, scholarship, or creative work. The Hayden Junior Fellowship is awarded, on an annual basis, to an assistant professor or to an associate professor within three years of receipt of tenure; the Senior Faculty Fellowship is awarded to a professor or to an associate professor more than three years beyond receipt of tenure, again on an annual basis.

Nominations will be accepted from department chairs, on behalf of their departments. In the case of chairs or program directors being nominated, submissions from other appropriate faculty members will be accepted. A department may submit only one nomination for each fellowship in any one year. Submissions from the previous year are automatically considered for a second year. The nominee's permission should be obtained prior to submission. Nominations will be reviewed by a panel consisting of faculty members representing the Undergraduate Academic Board and the Graduate Board, the Dean of Research, and the Dean of the College. This panel's recommendations will be forwarded to the Provost and the President for final approval.

Each nomination should present the case for the exceptional nature of the candidate's record, and should include a description of the candidate's achievements in teaching and in research and scholarly work, including supporting documentation in each area. A current curriculum vitae, a statement of the benefits this award could bring to the candidate's work, and names of three reference persons outside of the Clark community should also be included.

Nominations for the faculty fellowship awards should be submitted to my office. The awards will be announced at the Fall Convocation.

Nancy Budwig
Dean of Research