Scales of Justice

Mock Trial

In the intercollegiate mock trial competition, students role play lawyers and witnesses and are judged on their persuasiveness and ability to analyze arguments. Clark team members take LAS 038, Trial Advocacy, for credit in the fall semester. Both the fall class and the spring competition are currently taught by a practicing attorney and trial lawyer, Clark alumnus Steven C. Kennedy '88.

Visit our student-run Mock Trial team website.


Clark University’s aspiring lawyers delivered victories at two recent mock trial tournaments.

The Clark A team took first place with a 7-1 record at the University of New Hampshire Wildcat Invitational, held Oct. 27-28. Clark tied Suffolk University in one round and beat teams from the University of New Haven, Austin College of Texas, and MIT. Juliet Michaelsen ’19 won a Best Witness Award, and Rachael Chen ’19 won a Best Attorney Award with the highest possible score. The team includes Matthew O’Hara ’21, Owen Ganter ’21, Aitana Doster ’20, Salma Shawa ’19, Joanna Hamilton ’19, Julie Reed ’21, Alexandria Ross ’21, Zoe Brammer ’21, Chen, and Michaelsen.

Read More


Clark University students hosted an invitational mock trial tournament on Oct. 21-22, attracting eight college and university teams from as far away as Iowa.

"The Clark students organized the tournament themselves, including inviting the competing schools and advertising the tournament through the American Mock Trial Association," says Mark Miller, professor of political science and director of Clark's Law and Society Program. "The students also worked very hard on preparing for this competition, and we are all very proud of their team and individual accomplishments in the tournament."

Read more


The Clark University Mock Trial team was awarded an automatic bid to the American Mock Trial Association National Tournament in Washington, D.C., in March, as a result of their outstanding performance at the 2015 Manchester, New Hampshire Regional Tournament at St. Anselm College. The team earned a trophy for Outstanding Trial Team, and finished fourth among 22 teams, only losing to Harvard and two teams from Tufts. Press release

Team A
Valerie Johnson '15 (captain)
Katharine Courville '16 (captain)
Seth Katzman '15
Josh Dell '15
Emily Art '17
McKenna Hunter '17
Courtney Thomas '17
Michael Spanos '17

Team B
Carlotta Kane '18 (captain)
Matt Sullivan '17 (captain)
Sarah Maloney '17
Anne-Claire Merkle-Scotland '17
Alex Grayson '18
Simran Jay Totwani '18


One of Clark University's two Mock Trial teams earned a bid to the sub-national tournament held in Philadelphia on March 15-16, 2014. The A team earned its bid during the regional Intercollegiate Mock Trial Tournament held Jan. 31 – Feb. 2 at St. Anselm's College in Manchester, N.H. At the sub-national tournament, Josh Dell '15 received a Best Witness Award. Press release

Team A
Valerie Johnson '15 (captain)
Jacob Garber '14 (captain)
Emily Art '17
Katie Courville '16
Josh Dell '15
Sadie Hazelkorn '15
Seth Katzman '15
Courtney Thomas '17

Team B
Amira Farrag '16 (captain)
McKenna Hunter '17 (captain)
Kai Glick '16
Lauren Howard '17
Jessica MacBrough '17
Luke Miller '17
Brendan Simons '15
Michael Spanos '17


In February fifteen Clark University students making up two Mock Trial teams traveled to Manchester, New Hampshire, to compete in the regional Intercollegiate Mock Trial Tournament held at St. Anselm's College. Two of these students returned to campus toting awards… Press release


At the Boston Regional Tournament, Clark received the Spirit of AMTA Award, given to the team that best exemplifies the ideals of honesty, civility and fair play. Jacob Garber '14 received an Outstanding Witness Award. Tournament results


Clark hosts the Worcester Regional Qualifying Tournament. Tournament results


Clark hosted the 2010 New England Regional Tournament and went on to participate in the Boston Regional Tournament. Sylvie Lepeltier '10 received an Outstanding Attorney and Outstanding Witness Award at both tournaments, becoming the only student to win both at each. Press release | Tournament results