Faculty Distinctions

Nobel Laureates »

Since 1901, the Nobel Prize has been awarded annually for outstanding achievement in each of five fields: physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and peace. The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was created in 1968. A recipient of these prizes is called a Nobel Laureate.

MacArthur Fellows »

Funded by the Macarthur Foundation, the MacArthur Fellows Program awards unrestricted fellowships to talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction. They may use their fellowship to advance their expertise, engage in bold new work, or, if they wish, to change fields or alter the direction of their careers. Each fellowship comes with a stipend of $625,000 to the recipient, paid out in equal quarterly installments over five years.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellows »

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is an honorary society that recognizes achievement in the natural sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. As one of the nation's oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, the Academy convenes leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to address critical challenges facing our global society. The academy serves the nation as a champion of scholarship, civil dialogue, and useful knowledge. Members are nominated and elected by Academy Fellows.

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows »

From 1958 to the present

Founded in 1848, the American Association for the Advancement of Science is an international, non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science for the benefit of all people. Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.

National Academy of Sciences Fellows »

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars, established by an Act of Congress in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. The NAS is committed to furthering science in America, and its members are active contributors to the international scientific community.

Guggenheim Fellows »

Approximately 200 Guggenheim Fellowships are awarded each year to men and women who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. Fellowships are awarded through two annual competitions: one open to citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada, and the other open to citizens and permanent residents of Latin America and the Caribbean. Candidates must apply to be considered in either of these competitions.

Fulbright Scholars (core program) »

The core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program provides approximately 800 grants to U.S. faculty and experienced professionals from a wide variety of academic and professional fields for conducting teaching and/or research abroad. Grants are available in over 125 countries worldwide. Named for Senator J. William Fulbright, the program is sponsored by the U. S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, and managed by the Institute of International Education.

Endowed Positions »

Endowed positions, supported by private gifts, are held by distinguished faculty members.